Welcome to my new blog- The life of a Wheelie (Rebecca’s Blog)

March 21, 2009

Hi All,

I have been thinking about blogging for a while… But a particular conversation with a friend today has insipired me to actually do so. For those of you who do not know me I am 20 years old and am a college student at Holy Names Univ in Oakland. I have Cerebral Palsy and use a wheelchair to get around.  I have always been considered a high functioning person with CP so I never really needed help in school and all that. But now that I am in my Junior year of college and have the support of some amazing people in my life I have decided to embark in a life of independence.

This has proved to be so challenging because everything is based on your involvement with the department of Rehabilitation but most importantly most everything is based on your approval for social security. I was denied recently for having over than 2,000 dollars in my name. I am sorry but that is such a odd reason to be denied because it is impossible to live on 2,000 dollars a year. Especially in CA I was looking at rents in the Oakland/ Berkeley Area and it was more than 2,200 a month and that is without the modifications like a grab bars in the bathroom and modifications to the kitchen. Also, I would need to hire a 24/7 care person as well to assist me. (If anyone knows of a good service that helps you find a care person please let me know) So, with all that is needed how does the government expect someone to live on 2,000 dollars a year.

I will be reapplying soon but on average most people are denied 3 or 4 times before they are accepted. I feel this is a little insane because its hard enough to be a person with CP and the extra stress of all this is not helping. I have been told by so many people that I am an over-achiever and all that. What is wrong with someone with a disability wanting the best out of life and wanting to make something of themselves.

More later!!! time for some dinner after a great day with friends! I miss you guys and thanks so much for making today so much fun!

Signing off for now! *Golden spatula waves bye* Andy that was for you! 😉 LOL!

2 Responses to “Welcome to my new blog- The life of a Wheelie (Rebecca’s Blog)”

  1. Jason said

    There’s absolutely nothing wrong with wanting a good life for yourself, and since when was being a web-design genius being an over-achiever, hm? I’m going to be watching this, so I expect to see many more posts. I’m glad to hear you’re doing well. I wondered after I left CPC.

  2. Andy said

    Haha! The golden spatula surfaces!

Leave a Reply

